Bundle of Nerves

My goals are going well. I can honestly say I have never felt more proud of myself than I do right now. I feel confident and at ease. My mind is clear and right, my body is strong and rested, my faith is powerful and firm. And with that I am still scared. T-minus two days until my big bike ride begins. I’m committed I’m trained now all their is left to do is ride. But I’m afraid…

Have you ever gotten stage fright. That feeling of your face going red the taste of bile in your mouth and your stomach is doing somersaults totally out of control. That’s how I’m feeling. The stage is set and all eyes are on me. Normally I’m not one to get stage fright but I’m also quite comfortable being on stage in front of people. This is way outside my normal comfort zone. I have never been an athlete to perform and here I am participating in a major event a huge challenge where not only will there be viewers around to watch and cheer me on but there has been a financial investment made in my success.

I appreciate to my very core the support and love I have felt over the past months as people have given so generously and as people cheer me on and support me in my goal. Who knew I had such a great group of people surrounding me who believe in me and want nothing more than for me to do my best and succeed.

The stage is set the bands warming up the curtains about to be pulled back and then it’ll be show time. I am trying to view this like other productions or shows I’ve put on. You do the work to practice your part and your lines to know where you need to be and when you need to be there and this is no different. I’ve prepared I’ve done the training and the fundraising I’ve prepped my body and noted my route and my timing. SO when the curtain is drawn back I can perform with confidence. I hope that once I get going the nerves will ease and my confidence will kick back in. I know I can do this and I know with the support, love and prayers from my family I can succeed.

Phillipians 4:13

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Leave a Reply

