My Body is His Temple

Have you ever trained for something, not just general fitness but for a specific activity or event. I’m doing that right now. I’ve entered into a bike race where we have to bike a total of 228 Km over the course of two days!

I started training for this event at the end of May and have been going hard ever since. The motivation to train for an event is a great influence on me. It means even on the days I’m feeling lazy and like I wanna just relax it’s time to step it up another notch and get another ride in. It has helped my energy levels, my attitude, my confidence, and my over-all health. I’m curious to see where my motivation goes in a couple weeks once the race is over I hope due to the benefits I’ve noticed I will continue to maintain this level of fitness.

With that being said rest is also a good thing. Rest allows the body and the muscles to heal. It allows you to keep from getting overly emotional and moody and it helps you feel like there is more to your life and your days other than just training. My husband helped me see that and I’ve become more conscious of listening to my body and not over exerting myself. In doing this I’ve become, stronger and faster within the sport of biking but also in my other hobby Basketball. I have also noticed an  incredible increase in my endurance and things that once were difficult or left me out of breath seem easy.

God often refers to our body as a temple. This is meant both spiritually but also physically. Our bodies are used by God to complete his work and his purpose in our lives and it’s part of our job and our role here on earth to respect and take care of our bodies. God has set restrictions, limitations and rules for us, not to harm us or keep us from “the fun of the world” but to protect us and help us to live blessed, wonderful fulfilled lives in him. I only wish I had realized sooner. I intend to live each day to it’s fullest taking care of what God has given me and living each day expectantly for him.

 

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own;20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

Leave a Reply

