Beauty is Fleeting

As women we have grown up around and been told through media that we must conform to certain standards. We must shave our legs if we want to wear a dress, our hair must be worn in the latest trend and that makeup is a must when leaving the house or getting together with people. We have bought into for decades.

This year has been transformational for me when I realized I didn’t need to conform to what the world wanted or expected of me. It allowed me to develop into the person I want to be. The girl who’s primary obsession is not her looks or keeping up with the latest trends and it’s taught me many things about myself.

Did you know that I am really good at sports? Me a girl who in her youth avoided any physical activity at all costs because I didn’t enjoy getting sweaty. I actually excel at sports and feel good when I compete. I have also found that I’m not the girly girl I used to believe I was. Yes I still enjoy a sappy romantic movie, the colour pink and getting dressed up, but I also enjoy wearing sweats no makeup and getting my hands dirty (even out in public!)

I had an aha moment this week as I was going about my routine, I personally have made it a goal for myself to not conform as much to society and as such have reduced the amount of makeup I wear to the point of even on occasion wearing zero makeup even when at work or when I’m going out. It has been a struggle to find my beauty in that as it left me and who I am completely exposed. This week however one day when I dared to go bare I found myself admiring my own reflection in the mirrors at work as I realized how pretty I was and that my natural skin although occasionally blemished was my own and on me it looked good.

I have never felt such a profound sense of pride in myself as I realized just how far I’ve come and just how much I’ve accomplished. Beauty is fleeting and the world will always push and pressure everyone, not just women, to look and act a certain way. But if your not happy with yourself  is it really worth it? My lifestyle and journey is not for everyone but I am happy to declare that I am a child of God and in him and through him I am beautiful and for the first time I was able to see the beauty in myself that God has always seen in me.

 

Proverbs 31:30

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

1 Peter 3:3-4 

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

Leave a Reply

